Four Marketing Lessons from #GirlBoss

Sophia Amoruso founded a $100 million digital fashion empire before she hit 30 without any loans or a college degree. Her fascinating first book, #Girlboss, aims to explain how the Nasty Gal founder and CEO did it, and how you can become a #girlboss too. Here are four lessons I learned from reading #Girlboss.

1. Social is Boss. Ms. Amoruso originally started selling clothes on eBay, found success there, and moved on to starting her own company. She explains that social media really helped her transition from eBay to starting a separate business. One of the ways she did this was by using MySpace to build her reach. “I had friend-adding software, which was totally against MySpace’s policy. I would look up, say, an it girl’s friends and add only girls between certain ages in certain cities.” (#Girlboss)

2. Packaging is key. In addition to carefully adhering even package labels, Ms. Amoruso elevated the eBay buying experience by hiring hip photographers and investing her time in responding to every potential buyer’s question. She wrapped her products nicely, and even included a note thanking each customer. “I had to assume that my customer was as particular and as concerned with aesthetics as I was.” (#Girlboss)

3. “Failure is your intervention,” (#Girlboss, p. 138) One of the best parts about #Girlboss is Ms. Amoruso’s strong will; her belief that nothing will keep her feeling down is empowering. She doesn’t seem to skimp over her mistakes but uses them as actual learning tools. I love the way she reclaims her dark past, such as her shoplifting experience, using her own vulnerabilities to teach herself and her readers to be stronger.

4. Frugality rules. Or, in the words of Ms. Amoruso: “If you’re tempted to buy something, just imagine that those new shoes were actually made out of crisp $20 bills. Do those $20 bills look good getting dirty on the sidewalk? No, they do not. That’s because money looks better in the bank than on your feet.” (#Girlboss)

Nasty Gal's Shark leggings,
Nasty Gal doesn’t avoid risks.

2 thoughts on “Four Marketing Lessons from #GirlBoss

  1. You’re blog is so clever, I love it! So glad I stopped by. I’ve had my eye on this book for a while now but with very little time to read these days I have to choose carefully which ones I read. Thanks for putting this post together. It’s given me a good idea what the book is all about and I’m definitely going to read it!

    V
    Life+1

    Like

    1. You are so lovely…thank you for the kind comment. I truly enjoyed reading her book and I have a really short attention span but she kept it moving along. I hope you enjoy it and I hope you have a fabulous day!

      Like

Say what?

